Deer Sounds?

Posted on July 9, 2013

2


It’s the video you’ve been waiting for!

Well I have, anyway.

Remember the art/poem I put together for the blog where I used lines of the Emily Dickinson poem which begins “There’s a certain slant of light…”? I mentioned that the app TypeDrawing generated a digital video of the piece coming together. It’s pretty cool, but also so lame because TypeDrawing doesn’t let you export the “making of” video. But in the spirit of breaking the mold, I (low-techly) hacked the video.

It’s sorta  bittersweet to watch this because the craft took me about 4 hours to produce, and the video is only 3 1/2 minutes long. I shouldn’t complain – the production stage is relatively short compared to designing.

Superdisco Break it All Down

  • If the amount of time between project prompt and #iwashmyhandsofit is 100 % of the time, then I think coming up with the seed is nearly immediate, so lesssay 1-5 % of the project time.
  • The designing seems to take the longest time for me in art – that’s the written equivalent of editing, IMO. I’m going to go ahead and say it takes about 80% of the time to design/fine tune the project, which is to say I think it looks/sounds “cool.”
  • The production is quick for me when I just sit down and do it.  However, I have a hard time getting started because of distractions/ambivalence/resentment over the loss of free time/preference for another project/you name it. In this case the hurdle was finding the medium/becoming proficient in the time remaining!
hello. that will be all.

disco-ball

/#slant/
