My #hybrid Life

Posted on June 6, 2013

4


Edit 6/6/13: Hyperlinked body of text, explanation to follow.

Edit 6/9/13: As you read the following, please know that the entire passage is full of hyperlinks.  My goal was to link the whole thing to illustrate how easy it is to be influenced by outside material, whether it’s course material or apparently unrelated research. It also shows how much instruction and collaboration went into one person’s work, even when others don’t realize they’re contributing! So please feel free to click all, some, or none of the links; we all absorb and interpret things in different ways, as seen in House of Leaves or The Wasteland.

(Edit 6/9/13a: I’m wondering how readers will respond to reading the text after given so much information before the article actually begins. How would the reading experience and the writing experiment be different if the background info came after the post?)

Edit 6/10/13: shall we play a game?

Edit 6/11/13: Engaging in one creative project usually spawns another; I am in the process of creating a game. My plan is to play it and collaboratively fine tune it into something that meets a certain set of criteria – the most important of which is that the game is FUN.

***

For my final project in my Digital Humanities class with Drs. Stommel and Berens at Marylhurst University I will produce a poem as an example of a symbiotic collaborative literature I’m going to call algo-rhythmic. The term represents maths and computers, obviously, and brain function, and it’s also a clever play on words, amirite? Yes, it’s the interplay b/w the human brain and the computer brain – and – it’s the union between creator, created, and creative which – as far as I’m concerned – has been the highlight of this class. What sets algo-rhythmic/algorhythmic (which do you like best?) apart from eLiterature/Eliterature/e-literature/E-literature (…) is that it includes the real-time inner calculations of both one and the other, working simultaneously. {Did you realize that ‘simultaneously’ has all the vowels in it? So does miscellaneously and extemporaneously. lols…ously…}

Coming to the decision about this project’s focus was interesting, even to me! Firstly, I’m choosing to write a poem because the way we interact with poetry in Digital Humanities really reminds me of why I love poetry. I know that Dr. Jesse Stommel, PhD. is particularly intrigued by this process, so I will expound.

I adore sonnets and haiku, villanelles, spine poetry, song poems, and also logic problems, so it makes sense that I enjoy creating algo-rhythmic poetry. Fortunately, the Digital Humanities love to break chips off old blocks to build something newlike that Lego kit you build and enjoy as a toy object, only to eventually take it apart and construct a new toy. It’s interactive. It evolves, and it is entirely new. Just like sampling music. Or upcycling. It was in this spirit that I reconstructed four poems from two here: Sea and Spar Between, and from two here: House of Leaves of Grass (remix). The original verses, skewed, began to speak to me. And as I remixed them, something meaningful was created between data and idea.

This class has been actively discussing the way the vessel influences the creative process. In this way the vessel is a co-genitor of the creation. When I remixed the Sea and Spar b/w House of Leaves of Grass poem, I was a co-genitor.

So this got me to thinking that it was pretty cool that people designed machines to do things better than themselves, for themselves, and to this day our technology is still doing this, and it is predictive. We’ve designed it to try. This is very helpful, but it’s helping in some unhelpful ways, like opening Pandora’s Box. Thanks to the predictive abilities of software I am now perpetually distracted by ads, games, faux news, and other things that yes, I’m-also-fascinated-by-that-subject-tell-me-more stuff. This doesn’t help me get school projects accomplished. But what if it could..??

I thought about that for a bit before I formulated a plan for a poem written by me with the help of the web pages I browse due to the suggestions of my “gizmos,” as my dad calls them. Let’s see what we get!
.

20130606-012020.jpg